Inter-Club Quiz 10.04.19

Meeting of Wednesday 10th April 2019: Inter-Club

On Wednesday 10th April Omagh Probus hosted its annual Inter-Club quiz. President Oliver Loughran welcomed teams for Cookstown, Dungannon, Derry, Enniskillen and Strabane as well as two teams from Omagh Ladies Probus and one from the Golf Club. Before competition got underway club members and visitors observed a minute’s silence in memory of Club Secretary, Gerry McGonigle, who had passed away suddenly on 30th March and who had played a major part in organising the Quiz. In all 15 teams took part and after 8 rounds of 8 questions each the winners of the James Eakin Shield were the players from the Golf Club. The Bert McCrory Cup for the best Omagh Team was once again awarded to Omagh Ladies. A raffle for prizes donated by members of Omagh Probus raised over £300.00, sufficient to pay for the refreshments which had been served to members and guests as they arrived. Thanks were expressed to question master, Joseph Cummings, and Desmond Smart and his team of scrutineers for marking the answers and keeping the score.

Members of the Teams form Omagh Golf Club which won the James Eakin Trophy

President, Oliver Loughran, with the team from Omagh Ladies Probus which won the Bert McCrory Cup