Annual General Meeting 2017

Wednesday, 11th January 2017:  Annual General Meeting

John and Paul
In-coming President, John McCandless receiving the Chain of Office from out-going President, Paul Gallagher
Oliver and John
Oliver Loughran, newly elected Second Vice-President with President, John McCandless
Albert and Felim
Albert Allen [left] and Felim O’Neill, newly elected as Club Treasurer and Secretary respectively












The Club held its Annual General Meeting in Omagh Golf Club on Wednesday 11th January 2017 with 23 members present.  In keeping with custom and practice Vice-President, John McCandless, was elected President for 2017 and received his Chain of Office from out-going President, Paul Gallagher.  In his final address to the club Paul thanked all those who had helped in 2016, especially club secretary, Gerry McGonigle.   On taking the Chair John McCandless thanked members for electing him as President and congratulated Paddy McGowan on his election as First Vice-President and Oliver Loughran for accepting the position of Second Vice-President.   There was some concern when Gerry McGonigle and Sam Bullock declined to be re-elected as Secretary and Treasurer respectively and much relief when Felim O’Neil and Albert Allen allowed their names to go forward in their places.    Both were unanimously elected and warmly applauded.    Gerry McGonigle accepted the role of Welfare Officer, taking over from David Haddow who had filled this important off office for some time.   With other officers happy to say in post for another year, the club is well set for an exciting year in 2017.  Arrangements are well advanced for events to mark the Club’s 40th Anniversary and host the All-Ireland Probus Rally in May.